Google Map Tracks Wherever You Go

Google Map Tracks Wherever You Go. Here’s how to delete automatically what it stores
Google Map Tracks Wherever You Go. Here’s how to delete automatically what it stores

Google Map Tracks Wherever You Go. Here’s how to delete automatically what it stores

Google will automatically keep the details with it, wherever you travel all around the world. Google keeps eyes on you and can immediately show where you were at any moment in time. Although, this information can be helpful for you sometimes. Like you might want to look back and know how long it typically takes to drive somewhere you often go or you want to know where you went during the last trip. Still, it’s a kind of creepy for google to store years data on the server. For this reason, Google began rolling out a feature for users that lets them delete data automatically either every 18 months or every 3 months. Anything older than that will automatically delete. Strangely, Google has not put this setting on your google account page. Instead, users need to dig through settings in google maps.

Here’s what to do:

  • Open Google Maps on your phone (Android or iPhone)
  • Tap on the menu bar located on the top-left of the app.
  • Choose ‘Your Timeline’.
  • Next, tap the three dots on the top-right of the screen.
  • Now, choose ‘Setting and Privacy’.
  • Hit ‘Automatically delete location history’.
  • Change the settings from ‘keep until I delete manually’ to ‘keep for 18 months’ or ‘keep for 3 months’.

With this, anything older than the time you set will automatically be deleted.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here